Brownsea Island part 2

Well I’ve picked through the hundreds of shots I took in a 3 hour period (!!) and have chosen the ones I like the best.

I think I mentioned before that the island is reached by a ferry, it’s just off the English south coast near the seaside town of Bournemouth, a well known retirement town. It’s a nature reserve so there’s animals there that are very rare in the the rest of the UK- no sooner had we got off the boat and walked through the entrance than we saw a red squirrel! These guys are pretty rare here as the grey squirrel has taken over in the UK mainland, you’ll see them on some islands and Scotland but nowhere else. This one pretty much wanted his picture taken! Unfortunately I’d left my 70-300 behind so this is the closest I could get, but to find one just by the path, I was amazed.

I’ve also shown some from the ferry itself, basically a 50 seater boat. We were blessed with March sunshine so it looks warmer than it was!

Will share more soon.

Enjoy!

IMG_9145

 

IMG_9148

 

IMG_9140

 

IMG_9153
He’s not very big but he’s definitely there!

 

 

Leave a Reply

