Brownsea Island part 1

Back from the New Forest ( on England’s South Coast) where armed with my EFS 17-55 2.8 ( which I’ve said is generally my walkabout lens),my 50mm prime and an EF 70-200 3.5-5.6(which never made it out the bag as it’s huge) I used everything I’ve learned over the past few months and I can see an improvement since my last trip.

I’ll post the best few of the trip over a few posts, but this post is also about where I’ve been experimenting with B&W vs colour as well.

This shot is from Brownsea Island which is off the coast near Bournemouth and Poole, again on the south coast. It can only be reached by a small ferry, and is a nature reserve. It’s a real mix of landscapes even though it’s only a mile across- marshes, woodland and beaches. I looked specifically for interesting shapes and textures while there to convert to monochrome and the shot below works best I think. I’m no software whizz so all I did was desaturate in Elements to convert to B&W.

 

IMG_9213bw

 

Here’s the original for comparison.

IMG_9213

Will share more in the next few days.

2 thoughts on “Brownsea Island part 1

  1. Hi,
    I am also interested in photography and have blogged about it often. The black and white sets a mood. It depends what mood you’re going for.
    I met you in the Community Pool where you indicated you are a new blogger. I help new bloggers at my site. Here is a link to my About page, so you can read what my blog can do for you: http://mostlyblogging.com/about/
    Tips for engaging readers, improving content, and increasing traffic are waiting for you. I also offer free incentives for signing up and host ten networking events each month.
    Janice

    Like

Leave a Reply

